Inspiration

Posted on November 29, 2011 by

0


“In education it isn’t how much you have committed to memory or even how much you know. It’s being able to differentiate between what you do know and what you don’t. It’s knowing where to go to find out what you need to know and it’s knowing how to use the information you get.” –William Feather

While walking through the music filled halls of Northside, bumping the suit and tie wearing business majors in Weikamp Hall, and fling pass the psychology majors and their surveys in Greenlawn Hall at IUSB, one is often surrounded by chatter like, “Are you going to take…” and/or “Well if you take that, don’t take it with…” When it comes to choosing future college classes, unless they’re taught by a specific professor because of your major, picking a certain class with a specific professor is often based on a word of mouth recommendation. From what I’ve noticed during my college experience, most students rarely ever pick a class before they do their homework on the professor. Some professors are great teachers regardless if you pass their class or not. Because of the issues that come with secondhand personal bias, your ultimate decision could be the best choice or it could be detrimental if you and your confidant do or don’t have the same educational talents/background. When most say, “You should take that because it was easy” or “That’s one laid back professor”, their advice is usually on point. The advice most students have to be weary of is, “That class wasn’t that hard, but…” That type of advice is often deceitful in some kind of way. Being that I was a Biology/Chemistry major, then I became a General Studies major, and now I’ve switched again, I’m often asked for my advice/input on certain classes. I know someone out there is like, “Man this kid can’t make up his mind!” It’s not really like that. I used to want to deliver babies, but that came and went. I want to own my own business, but pursuing a business degree would be like starting over. General studies was my way of not starting over. Unfortunately, it felt like I would be selling myself short and there is No graduate school with a degree in general studies. Well, what do I do now? I know, Sociology with a minor in Business, Psychology, and Marketing. Hey, writing this blog, I just figured out that I am the average college student–indecisive! I’ve bounced around IUSB so much that I should play for the Titans. That’s not a bad idea. If all IUSB students are Titans, I can act like the coach. This blog will be the court, my experience will be the ball, and the knowledge I bring will be the pass.

This semester I had the pleasure of taking Dennis Rodriguez’s Psychology 316 Sensation and Perception class. Dr. Rodriguez has a Ph.D. in Experimental Psychology and he is the Associate Professor & Chair, for the Department of Psychology here at IUSB. Before I took the class I was like, “Man I gotta take a class offered by a Department Chair member. This is gonna suck!” I think back on that though and I realize that I should slap myself. From one student to another, Dr. Rodriguez earned the 2011 Teacher of the Year Award from me. His class deals with how our bodies process different sensations and perceptions which at time cross to produce beautiful illusions. He teaches you things that you already know because you unconsciously do them daily but you’ve never thought about how the processes work. Have you ever wondered how the light that we see travels to the brain or how is it that we interpret sound? If so, P329 has its mouth, eyes, and ears open and looking for you.

Dr. Ann Grens has a Ph.D. in Molecular Biology, she loves animals and she’s also the Associate Professor of Molecular & Developmental Biology here at IUSB. Professor Grens is a great teacher. For those who are interested, she teaches a wide range of Biology classes at IUSB. She was my Molecular Biology professor. I learned about DNA, RNA polymerase binding, and I dissected a fetal pig in her Biology 102 class. All of that was fun and enlightening but those experiences are not what makes me love her and her teaching style. I love her teaching style because it was hard and upsetting. Why would I love something like that might you ask? Because Biology was my major! If I couldn’t pass her class and each class afterward gets progressively harder, she allowed me a way out. Think about it. If I was a senior and that was the class which I needed to graduate, it wouldn’t have happened. My “D” showed me that Biology was no longer for me. I love her for that. I enjoy business over biology any day. However, even if you do or don’t like biology, feel free to stop by her office, which is in Northside hall room 128A, to say hi to her pet iguana.

Like I stated before, I’m 28 years old, I have an 11-year-old daughter and a 3-year-old son. This makes me a husband, a dad, a friend, a boy (in my Maxine’s eye), and a toyruskid (in my eyes). That’s a lot and those are a lot of emotions. I often catch myself wondering, ”Will my children, especially my son, do half of the dumb/crazy/stupid things that I did as both a child and an adolescent?” I didn’t know how to answer these questions until I took Gwendolyn Mettetal Psychology 316 Childhood and Adolescents class. Professor Mettetal has a Ph.D. in Developmental Psychology and she is also a Professor for the School of Education and the Department of Psychology here at IUSB. In her class, I learned all about the prefrontal cortex, how it develops, and when it actually begins to work. For those who don’t know, the prefrontal cortex is the part of the brain where conscious thinking takes place. If you’ve ever wonder why it seems like a teen doesn’t hear you, it’s usually because they don’t. Their brains are racing a mile a minute about everything but what you or the teacher may or may not be talking about. During her class we watched babies being born, how autistic children learn, and even things such as is being gay hereditary. If you’ve ever wonder why babies, children, adolescent, and/or teen act the way they do, P316 nurtures all students.

My fellow students, I’ve passed you my knowledge. Now like most coaches will say, “It’s up to you to get the ball (experience) into the hole (graduation).–Reginald Young

