Follow Your Dreams

Posted on November 10, 2011 by

3


 “Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you  have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.”                                     Harriet Tubman

From our very first “mirror” performance, game winning shot, or academic achievement/feet, we as people are always taught to follow our dreams.  Some of us dream big and some dream small but the one thing that binds us both, is the dream for success.  At times, success may seem like a dream that’s a million light years away; however, I urge you to never give up.  With the current state of the economy, many people can’t afford to live their dream. Because of that, dreams are often placed on the back-burner for hourly wages, insurance benefits and basic living expenses.  Langston Hughes asked, “What happens to a dream deferred?”  I don’t know if it dries up like a raisin in the sun, but I do know that it can wither away and die.  Americans spend billions of dollars on a collegiate education for what we often “dream” of becoming.  On the contrary, we often “become” something totally different.  For example, 2011 has been the year of the food trucks.  Americans desire for good food has caused more and more business entrepreneurs to leave the hustle and bustle of Wall Street for smells and tastes of Main Street.  During college life and/or economic downturns, many people are often forced to live on a diet which revolves around Ramen Noodles.  However, due to the fact that millions of people worldwide eat Ramen Noodles on a daily basis, Toni Patrick followed her dreams for success and capitalized on them by writing two best-selling books

which deal exclusively with creating masterpieces with a 10 cent product. Can anyone say “Affordable?”  Like most, I’ve had lots of dreams.  I wanted to be a shark (little boys fantasize), a CIA agent, a surgeon, an OB/GYN, and even a dentist yet all those dreams have come and gone.  My one passion in life has always been to feed the world I love to cook.  My passion has now become my dream.  I want to combine all of my knowledge and the inspiration that I get from my idols (Maxine Young, G. Garvin, Paula Deen, Bobby Flay, & Nate Appleman) to become the next role model for African-American males.  Unlike basketball or football, culinary arts isn’t praised in the African-American community.  I want to show everyone that you don’t have to run suicides, be at practice at 6 am freezing, or at 12 pm dying of thirst from heat exhaustion.  People always say, “Go Big or Go Home”.  The biggest thing a chef can do is give away personal secrets (recipes).  I’m taking on this process in my spare time by writing my own cookbook.   I began cooking with my grandmother after the first time that I saw Channel 11’s Frugal Gourmet.  Since then, I’ve made, seen, and tried all  kinds of weird/wacky/crazy/fun foods but I believe that Ramen Noodle  sandwich  is by fair one of those that I’ll never forget.  I’ve lived in or spent time in eight different states; unfortunately my dream state, Texas, hasn’t been one of them.  The State Fair of Texas, which is held annually from September 28th to October 21, is home to such delicacies as:

  • Fried Beer
  • Fried Peanut Butter, Jelly and Banana Sandwiches
  • Fried Coke
  • Chicken Fried Bacon
  • Deep Fried Frozen Margarita
  • Fried Cake on a Stick

For everyone who took the time to read this, I thank you.  My ultimate goal is to win a James Beard Award and  feed the world a piece of me; however, until then, any foodies, college students, or people strapped for cash who want a good meal for cheap, I recommend you check out Minnesota State Universities Student Health Services “Beyond Mac & Cheese Campaign”, which includes things like Breakfast in a Bag, Iced Mocha Java, Tropical Chicken Salad Wrap, and many more, for FREE!  A good meal is not only the way to a man’s heart and stomach but it can also serve as a peace maker or an introducer. Please remember that good food doesn’t have to be expensive and expensive food doesn’t necessarily mean it’s good! Have fun and be creative. The kitchen is always ready to create and like Vegas, “What happens there, if it’s bad, stay’s there!” Bone appetite!

