A College Kid Adventure Zone!

Posted on October 25, 2011 by

0


As an IUSB student, I have been looking  for ways to beef up my academic resume.  While the experiences that I have had here have been extremely rewarding, just merely joining clubs and working in the Writer’s Room doesn’t seem to be “cutting it” for me. I thought to myself, “there has to be a way to further enrich my experience, a way to change my life and the lives of others in a BIG way”.

And then. . .

This girl, a student representative for the International Student Volunteers organization, came into my Criminal Justice class the other day to make an announcement.  The message was short and sweet, her voice and energy was like a fresh cup of coffee in the morning. My ears perked up and my tail wagged a little…(I now understand my dog’s excitement when I dangle a treat in front of her face).  She spoke too fast for me to understand exactly what she was saying; all I heard was “Volunteer, Abroad, Adventure Tour and Sea Turtles”.  She passed around a flyer with the ISV ‘s website on it and I decided to check it out.  Here’s a little on their background:

“For nearly 30 years, ISV has conducted travel programs for tens of thousands of students internationally. We have valued partnerships with more than 100 host organizations and communities, and all of our programs are operated with the highest level of integrity, professionalism and sustainability. Our adventure tours are unbeatable for fun, excitement and exploring new cultures. These are some of the reasons why more than 20,000 ISV alumni have rated their experience a 4.8 out of 5 while making a significant difference in the fields of conservation and community development around the world. “

There’s a lot of information on the website about the different locations you can travel to for volunteer projects.  I have included the link above.  Be sure to visit it when you have sometime to truly explore.  It sounds like an amazing opportunity to travel, volunteer and even earn some academic credit! The programs run, on average, around 3500 dollars but this includes most meals, all transportation in the host country and much more.  Fundraising opportunities to help cover program costs are available and I will be sure report back, when I have the information.  How amazing would it be to frolic in a foreign land, teach English to kids in Thailand, help build homes and playgrounds, swim with sea turtles, bathe elephants, play with monkeys, jump off cliffs and slide down waterfalls in a rainforest– all while spending a month with 25-50 complete strangers that could possibly become your friends for life!?!  This is the kind of volunteering opportunity I would pay to experience! Who is coming with me?

Posted in: Student Life