“Why graduate school?” Why not?

Posted on October 18, 2011 by

0


I walked into college and was already looking at walking out with my undergraduate degree.  Now that my graduation date is soon approaching I am wanting to turn around and go back to my freshman year of college.  Life after college is probably one of the most terrifying things.  You contemplate whether you should take a year off and then go to grad school, go to grad school right after you graduate or just get a job in the field of your degree.  One thing I do know is that I want to go to grad school, but not really too sure where to begin with the process.  Thanks to the web I found an awesome site that helps you every step of the way from choosing the appropriate grad school, to taking the correct admissions test, to applying.

“While it may be difficult to consider more schooling, consider making graduate school your next step, particularly if you want to land a job that requires more than a four-year degree or you want a higher starting salary.”

People ask me all the time “Why grad school?” I say, “Why not?”  The quote above is exactly why I am going to grad school.  I want to be successful in my career and I want to be rewarded financially.  I think it is important to take your education as far as you can.  The next question is “How are you going to pay for it?”  I am not going to let the cost of grad school determine whether or not I attend.  Obviously I do not want to be in debt the rest of my life, but I also want to have a great education, be valuable to a company and have a healthy annual income. The site gives numerous reasons why one should choose to go to grad school.

When choosing a grad school it is important to decide what you want to specialize in and research the job market for careers within that specialized field.  Getting your masters degree most likely will  increase your job-satisfaction and self-confidence.  If you are looking to become a social worker, college professor, pharmacist, lawyer, doctor, or therapist, for example, a higher education is needed.

